RSS

21 Day Detox: Beginning the Adventure

04 Apr

My hubby and I are venturing out on a 21-day detox that is supposed to clean out our bodies of all the junk we’ve been feeding them over the years (processed foods, toxins, etc). We are closing in on day 2, and 19 more days sure sounds like alot right now! We always usually try to eat healthy, but we never eat this healthy. It’s been quite a struggle to come up with meal ideas using the allowed foods, which for the first 10 days are basically just fruits and veggies! I thought I’d bring you along on our journey with us, so hopefully I can keep up with this and share the foods and meals that we come up with!

Yesterday was the first day of the cleanse. We only had our shakes (containing fruits, a cleanse powder, and powdered fiber) for breakfast and lunch. For dinner we tried a salad and baked acorn squash. The squash was great, the salad…well, let’s just say we need to find what works best as a salad dressing that is approved by the program. For snacks throughout the day we had peppers, carrots, and celery. Last night I broke down and boiled some eggs (not approved by the program, but our doc allows it as long as you don’t have egg sensitivities) because I had to have more protein before bed!

First shake of the cleanse. Mixed berries, banana, and required supplements.

2 acorn squash cut in half and de-seeded.

Next, fill baking dishes with about an inch of water and place squash halves cut side down.

Finished product! Baked acorn squash with butter and cinnamon! This has always been a favorite of ours (the toddler even likes it).

Our complete dinner. The salad was not good at all, but the squash was amazing!

Today, the second day, I had scrambled eggs and a strawberry and carrot shake! The shake was surprisingly good, and I was amazed by my Ninja’s action on the carrots! Didn’t flinch! I did have to add a little Stevia to sweeten this one, but it was tasty! For lunch, I had some broccoli (I had fixed some for my toddler) and another shake. For dinner, I didn’t have much to work with so we lacked variety, but our baked sweet potato wedges were really yummy!

Dinner for day 2 - baked sweet potato wedges. Everyone at the table loved these! 🙂

Our snacks for this week: Red, yellow, and orange peppers, celery, and carrots. Planning on making some guacamole to dip them in, too!

Tomorrow will be a true test, since I’m meeting my mom for our weekly lunch at Subway. I won’t get to have bread (I love bread) so it will be a veggie salad…and no sweet tea for me! Sad day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in Food/recipes, Health

 

2 responses to “21 Day Detox: Beginning the Adventure

  1. BrothersFullam

    April 5, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    i think a little guac will help a lot! this is pretty intense.

     
    • Jen

      April 5, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Yeah, I’m planning on making some today or tomorrow! Yum! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
