RSS

Take Two Fish Oil and Call Me in the Morning

28 Nov

One of the most common questions we get when people find out that we don’t take medication of any kind and don’t even have it in our house: “What do you do if you have a headache???!!” Haha! Cracks me up! Our society is so used to medicating for everything under the sun that NOT medicating is a foreign concept! To me, that’s sad!

Just the other day, I woke up in the middle of the night with a horrible headache! Sinus pressure causing my whole entire head to throb! Did I run to the medicine cabinet and down a few Excedrin? Tylenol? Advil? NOPE! I did run to the “medicine” cabinet (which I’m thinking of renaming, since it has no medicine in it!) and downed a couple of fish oil soft gels! Guess what? Within 15 minutes I was feeling great and dozing back off! Shocker, I know, that you can get rid of a headache without one of those over-the-counter wonders that are harmful to your liver!

It’s true, fish oil is among other things good for relieving headaches because it works as an anti-inflammatory. Chiropractic adjustments can also help, but obviously that wasn’t an option at 3am! On some occasions, sleep or cold/hot compress can help. I’m sure there are many other natural remedies, but these are the ones I’m aware of so far! Try it sometime!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 28, 2010 in Alternative Medicine, Health

 

One response to “Take Two Fish Oil and Call Me in the Morning

Leave a Reply

 
